Table 1

Systematics of the genus Triturus
Species Authority
Marbled newts
Triturus marmoratus (Latreille, 1800)
Triturus pygmaeus (Wolterstorff, 1905)
Crested newts
Triturus cristatus (Laurenti, 1768)
Triturus carnifex (Laurenti, 1768)
Triturus macedonicus (Karaman, 1922)
Triturus dobrogicus (Kiritzescu, 1903)
Triturus karelinii * (Strauch, 1870)
eastern species
central species
western species

*The taxon traditionally referred to as T. karelinii actually comprises three distinct species for which the taxonomy still has to be worked out fully [22,23]. For now these three species are referred to as the western, central and eastern T. karelinii species.

Wielstra et al.

Wielstra et al. Frontiers in Zoology 2013 10:13   doi:10.1186/1742-9994-10-13

Open Data